After 1996, Pakistan got a chance to host the ICC event, will India participate? – Pakistan got a chance to host the ICC event After 1996 will India participate?

Image Source : GETTY IMAGES
Pakistan got a chance to host the ICC event After 1996 will India participate?

The big cricket competition will return to Pakistan after more than two decades when the country hosts the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) Champions Trophy in 2025. The ICC Board on Tuesday handed over the hosting of the 2025 Champions Trophy to Pakistan. Also the US and West Indies were jointly chosen as the hosts of the 2024 T20 World Cup. This will be the first global competition in North America. According to the announcement, India will be hosting three ICC events in the coming few years, including the 2026 T20 World Cup and the 50-over World Cup to be held in 2031. India will co-host the 50-over World Cup along with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Apart from this, India will also host the 2029 Champions Trophy alone. World Cup 1996 co-hosts Pakistan has not been able to host many international matches in the country after the terrorist attack on Sri Lanka’s team bus in Lahore in 2009. The Champions Trophy was last held in the UK in 2017 and will see the tournament return to the ICC calendar after eight years. New Zealand and England had recently pulled out of the tour of Pakistan and it remains to be seen whether the teams eventually prepare to tour the country.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021/22: Vidarbha, Karnataka and Kerala reach quarter-finals

Amid the possibility of hesitation to travel to Pakistan, the source said, “There is every possibility that they may have to host in the UAE.”

If this does not happen and Pakistan organizes this tournament in its own country, then the biggest question will arise whether India will participate in this event or not.

India has not played a bilateral series with Pakistan for a long time due to political issues, so both the teams are seen playing each other in multinational tournaments only. In the recently held T20 World Cup 2021, India and Pakistan had a match where Babar Azam’s team defeated Virat Kohli’s team by 10 wickets.

IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma’s big statement on Virat Kohli, told what will be his role in T20I

The sport’s governing body said on Tuesday that 14 members of the ICC will host the ICC men’s competitions between 2023 and 2031.

“11 Full Members and three Associate Members have been selected to host two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men’s T20 World Cups and two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy,” the ICC said in a release.

According to the statement, “The United States and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup event for the first time. Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have hosted major events in the past and will do so again in the next decade.

ICC Chairman Greg Barkley thanked each member who submitted the bid and congratulated the successful bidders.

Michael Clarke hints Justin Langer may step down after Ashes win

Barkley said, “The 14 members hosting eight tournaments reflects the global nature of our sport.”

“It is great to be back to so many previous hosts but what is most exciting about this process are the countries that will be hosting ICC events for the first time. This includes America as well.

The hosts were selected through a competitive bidding process monitored by a sub-committee of the Board. The sub-committee was headed by Martin Snedden, while it also included Sourav Ganguly, President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Ricky Skerritt, President of the West Indies Cricket Board.

The ICC Board accepted the recommendations of the Committee which conducted a thorough review of each bid with the ICC Management. A similar process will be followed early next year to identify the hosts of the next cycle’s ICC Women’s and Under-19 competitions.

!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”); ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *