After T20 World Cup, ICC announced ‘tournament team’, not a single Indian got a place

Image Source : AP
Indian cricket team

After the conclusion of the T20 World Cup 2021, the ICC has announced the ‘Team of the Tournament’. Surprisingly, not a single Indian player has been included in this team, while the names of players from teams like South Africa and Sri Lanka are included in this. At the same time, Babar Azam of Pakistan has been made the captain of its ‘team of the tournament’ by the ICC.

The Indian team could not progress beyond the group stage of the tournament. He had to face defeat from Pakistan and New Zealand. After this he defeated Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia. The jury members did not find any Indian player worthy of a place in this team, while South Africa’s Aiden Markram and Anrich Norkia and Sri Lanka’s Charit Aslanka and Wanindu Hasaranga have been selected. Both these teams also failed to make it to the semi-finals.

Also read- IPL to T20 World Cup: How David Warner became Player of the Tournament after overcoming disappointment

Champions Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan have been selected in the team. Opener and player of the tournament David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and pacer Josh Hazlewood have been named in the team for the first-time champions Australia.

England’s Jos Buttler is included in the team as wicketkeeper and Moeen Ali as all-rounder, while Trent Boult from New Zealand has made it in. Babar of Pakistan has been named the captain of the team while Hasranga, who took the highest wicket in the tournament, has also been named in the team.

Also read- T20 World Cup winners Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood join this special club of Yuvraj Singh

A member of the jury, former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, said, “Like every team selection, this team will also be discussed. The panel respects such discussion. It was extremely difficult to select a team from such a competitive tournament. The main basis of selection was the matches from Super 12 to the final. ,

The team is as follows: David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (WK), Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan), Charit Aslanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa ( Australia), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Enrich Norkea (South Africa).

12th player – Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”); ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *