These seven cities of Australia have got the hosting of T20 World Cup matches

Image Source : GETTY
Aerial view of Melbourne Cricket Ground

Seven Australian cities including Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup from October 16 to November 13 next year. The other two cities where tournament matches will be held are Geelong and Hobart. Of these, however, there is a possibility of round one matches.

The final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). According to an International Cricket Council (ICC) release, “The tournament to be held from October 16 to November 13 next year will have 45 matches hosted by Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.”

Also read- IND vs NZ: Kane Williamson out of T20 series against India, Tim Southee will lead New Zealand in the first match

The semi-finals will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground and the Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10 respectively. Countries that have qualified directly for the Super 12 stage include defending champions Australia and runners-up New Zealand. Apart from them, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa have also made it directly to the Super 12.

Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and two-time champions West Indies will play in the first leg. The other four teams in the first leg will be decided by two qualifying tournaments. The first of these tournaments will be played in Oman in February while the second in Zimbabwe in June-July.

Also Read – Pre Quarter Final SMAT 2021: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Pre Quarter Final

“We are excited about the return of ICC events in Australia and are pleased to announce the seven host cities for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2022,” said event head Chris Tetley.

!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”); ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *