Games and Sports

Thomas Cup 2022 Indian players will get so many crores Sports Minister Anurag Thakur’s big announcement Thomas Cup 2022: Indian players will get so many crores, Sports Minister Anurag Thakur’s big announcement

Bangkok: Indias team members celebrate after winning Thomas Cup title in Bangkok, Thailand, Sunday- India TV
Image Source : PTI
Bangkok: Indias team members celebrate after winning Thomas Cup title in Bangkok, Thailand, Sunday


  • Indian team badly beat Indonesia in the final
  • Indonesia’s team has won the Thomas Cup 14 times so far
  • President and Prime Minister also congratulated Indian players

Today will be written in golden letters in the history of Indian badminton. The Indian badminton team created history by defeating Indonesia 3-0 in the final and winning the Thomas Cup for the first time. Thomas Cup is considered to be the most prestigious title of badminton. Lakshya Sen’s win, Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty’s doubles pairing and former world No. 1 Kidambi Srikanth helped India win the cup.

India’s men’s badminton team defeated 14-time champions Indonesia 3-0 in the final to clinch the title. Indian players put up the best performance ever and won. World Championships medalists Lakshya Sen and Kidambi Srikanth, besides world number eight pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty, registered a memorable win for the team. Struggling to find momentum in the knockout stage, Lakshya performed as expected in the most crucial bout as he bounced back from a loss in the first singles match to defeat world No. 5 Anthony Sinisuka Ginting 8-21 21-17 21- 16 to give India a 1-0 lead. The country’s top men’s doubles pair of Satwik and Chirag then came back from adversity to save four match points in the second game to beat the pair of Mohammad Ahsan and Kevin Sanjay Sukamuljo 18-21 23-21 21-19. Made the lead 2-0. In the second singles, Srikanth put up a stellar performance to give India a 3-0 victory over Asian Games gold medalist Jonathan Christie 21-15 23-21 in 48 minutes in straight games.

The Indian team had previously reached the semi-finals of the Thomas Cup in 1952, 1955 and 1979, while Indonesia has been the most successful country in the tournament’s history, with 14 titles to its name. Meanwhile, Union Sports Minister Anurag Thakur made a big announcement for the players who made India the winner today. After the victory of the Indian team, Anurag Thakur tweeted and wrote that Team India has captured the title by defeating the 14-time Thomas Cup champion Indonesia. After this unparalleled win, I announce a cash prize of Rs 1 crore to the team. He wrote that he is proud to announce this. Congratulations to the Indian team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts