Games and Sports

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22: Saurashtra beat Vidarbha by 7 wickets to reach semi-finals

Image Source : TWITTER
Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22: Saurashtra secure place in semifinal after beating vidarbha by 7wickets

Saurashtra on Wednesday defeated Vidarbha by seven wickets to enter the semi-finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Saurashtra bowlers, led by skipper Jaydev Unadkat, put up a brilliant performance to bowl out Vidarbha for 150 in 40.3 overs.

Apoorva Wankhede scored 72 runs for Vidarbha. Unadkat took two wickets for 25 runs. For Saurashtra, Prerak Mankad scored an unbeaten 77 off 72 balls to give the team victory with 20.1 overs to spare. Vidarbha lost three wickets in the first eight overs when they were sent to bat first at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium.

Unadkat and Chetan Sakariya took the opening wickets. Vidarbha quickly lost the wicket of in-form opener Atharva Tayde (1) who was dismissed by Unadkat. Ganesh Satish (1) and Yash Rathod (1) were also dismissed cheaply. Captain Faiz Fazal (23) and wicket-keeper batsman Akshay Wadkar (18) shared a 45-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Prerak Mankad broke the partnership by dismissing Wadkar. Half of Vidarbha’s team got out for 66 runs. Wankhede made 72 runs in 69 balls with the help of five fours and five sixes but he did not get support from the other end. Aditya Sarwate (14), Lalit Yadav (1), Yash Thakur (0) and Aditya Thackeray (0) were dismissed cheaply.

Chasing a target of 151 for victory, openers Vishwaraj Jadeja (0) and Harvik Desai (nine) were dismissed early. Thackeray took both the wickets. Both Sheldon Jackson and Mankad could add only 22 runs for the third wicket.

ASHES 2021-22: Michael Vaughan said – batting disappointed Root as captain

Mankad and Arpit Vasavada (41 not out) put on an unbeaten 116 for the fourth wicket to help Saurashtra win. Mankad hit 10 fours and two sixes in his innings. Vasavada hit six fours in his innings. Saurashtra will face Tamil Nadu in the semi-finals.

(With PTI Inputs)

!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”); ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts